Leeds Beckett University

Leeds Beckett University Address

Leeds Beckett University RankingLeeds Beckett University (LBU), formerly known as Leeds Metropolitan University (LMU) and before that as Leeds Polytechnic, is a public university in Leeds, West Yorkshire, England. It has campuses in the city centre and Headingley. The university’s origins can be traced to 1824, with the foundation of the Leeds Mechanics Institute. Leeds Polytechnic was formed in 1970, and was part of the Leeds Local Education Authority until it became an independent Higher Education Corporation on 1 April 1989. In 1992, the institution gained university status. The current name was adopted in September 2014.


Leeds Beckett University has over 4,500 bedrooms available across a wide range of accommodation blocks. Students have the option of living either in Headingley or the city centre, no more than five miles from the nearest campus. En suite rooms and studio apartments are available. The accommodation office can also help students who wish to rent private accommodation in and around Leeds.

Undergraduate Degrees 

  • BA (Hons) Architecture
  • BA (Hons) Business & Management
  • BA (Hons) Accounting & Finance
  • BSc (Hons) Adult Nursing
  • BSc (Hons) Biomedical Sciences
  • BA (Hons) Sport Business Management
  • BA (Hons) Filmmaking
  • LLB (Hons) Law
  • BEng (Hons) Civil Engineering

Postgraduate Degrees

  • MA International Business
  • MSc Accounting & Finance
  • MBA
  • MSc Information & Technology
  • MSc Physiotherapy (Pre-registration)
  • MA International Political Economy
  • MSc Sport & Exercise Science